An unidentified 2500-series
PCC car runs east on Spring Garden Street by the old U.S. Mint between
16th and 17th Streets while assigned to a Sunday schedule on route 43.
Full-time PCC service on this line began on August 2, 1948, after the new
2100's had been delivered. This route used the famous and picturesque
tunnel under the Art Museum in the Benjamin Franklin Parkway-East River
(now Kelly) Drive area on its run from the waterfront to 48th and Parkside.
On July 5, 1956, route 43 was converted to bus operation and the trolley
tunnel was rebuilt for automobile traffic. Even the mint was gone,
having moved to its present location at 4th and Arch Streets on September
Caption data from Dennis
Ken Josephson collection
state by state index
to Home Page